4th Hole @Brokenhurst – Out of Bounds or Red Penalty Area?

The 4th is another tactical hole but perhaps its main feature is the green - hit it onto the left half with the hole on the right (or vice versa) and a 3 putt might be a good result. As driving distances have grown with modern technology you need to hit a fade or hug … Continue reading 4th Hole @Brokenhurst – Out of Bounds or Red Penalty Area?

It keeps happening to Bryson – the broken club

It seems that Bryson Dechambeau just can not stay out of the limelight. The shaft of his driver broke on the 7th hole - probably not surprising given the violent speed of his new swing (watch the video below if you haven't seen the incident). The breakage was most definitely accidental and not done in … Continue reading It keeps happening to Bryson – the broken club

3rd Hole @BrokenhurstGC – Too many clubs

The first Par 3 on the course and it can vary in length from 140 to 200 yards or so depending on where they put the tees.  Normally played into the prevailing wind.  The pond short of the green shouldn't be in play and with a just a single bunker on the right you should … Continue reading 3rd Hole @BrokenhurstGC – Too many clubs

2nd Hole @BrokenhurstGC – Staked Trees

The second at Brokenhurst is a well designed risk and reward Par 5. A drive down the right might allow you to go for the green in two by going over or around the stand on pine trees. Beware however as there is a ditch short and left while thick rough and out of bounds … Continue reading 2nd Hole @BrokenhurstGC – Staked Trees

Misunderstood Rules 1: Improving your Lie

This is maybe an inadvertent giving yourself a "chance" of getting the ball out from heavy rough. You are not allowed to improve any of Conditions Affecting the Stroke. But what are they? the lie of the ballthe area of intended stancethe area of intended swingthe line of playthe relief area where the player will … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 1: Improving your Lie

Misunderstood Rules 2: Giving or Receiving Advice

Often well meaning comments made by another player in your group, but you can also inadvertently ask for advice without thinking. A player may not give or seek advice to or from anyone except their caddie, partner or partner's caddie (or a nominated "advice giver", if allowed, in a team competition). https://youtu.be/Fiyr2Z06soE Interestingly, the Advice … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 2: Giving or Receiving Advice

Misunderstood Rules 3: Nearest or Nicest Point of Relief?

Perhaps every golfer is tempted by this with the following thought process: "It can't be relief if I can't get a swing at it, so I'll find the nearest point where I can actually play the ball" Commonly known as finding the "nicest" rather than "nearest" point of relief. https://youtu.be/StzCioUtteQ Sorry - but that isn't … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 3: Nearest or Nicest Point of Relief?

Misunderstood Rules 4: Lateral Relief from Red Penalty Areas

Its very easy to take lateral relief from a Red Penalty Area next to where your ball is lying, however your reference point is the point where the ball last crossed in to the penalty area - perhaps a little bit further back as most red penalty areas are to the side. https://youtu.be/M09fG0fnRK0 And don't … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 4: Lateral Relief from Red Penalty Areas

Referee Challenge: Loose Impediments

We know you can remove loose impediments anywhere on the course now, but we need to take care that our ball doesn't move when doing so - if it does we get a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball exactly where it was. If we don't move it back and then play it … Continue reading Referee Challenge: Loose Impediments