Matchplay and Strokeplay rules differ
This should be easy – what is the ruling (for Tommy and the player’s ball he hit)? Any concerns about leaving the other ball next to the hole?
Are you normally “behind the group in front” or “in front of the group behind”? I have been around golf courses since I was born – my first home as a baby was in the clubhouse of the course where my Dad was the Golf Pro & Head Greenkeeper and my Mum was the Steward. … Continue reading Speeding Up Play
Everyone knows that you now have 3 minutes to search for your ball, and if it isn’t found within that time it is “lost”. Bit what happens if you are looking for 2 balls (perhaps the original and a provisional or for two different players) in the same area? Surely you have 3 minutes to … Continue reading Searching for 2 Balls in the Same Place
An illustration of how simple things can go wrong – also perhaps why Tour Players will call a referee for situations where you might expect them to know the rules. The language used in the video is a little “loose” when referring to “complete relief” (which he doesn’t need to take), but it does teach … Continue reading Cam Smith – Penalty Area Relief
A fairly common phrase heard on the course after a poor shot “I’ll declare that ball lost”. The problem is that this has no meaning within the rules – under Rule 18.2a the only time a ball is lost is when it is “not found in three minutes after the player or his or her caddie begins … Continue reading “Declaring a Ball Lost”
Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.
Follow My Blog
Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.