The Referee Gets in the Way

A true tale from a recent competition. When refereeing a stroke play (or matchplay) competition you do your best to keep out of the players way and not to interfere unless you are called in or spot a situation where a player may need a bit of help to apply the rules correctly. It doesn't … Continue reading The Referee Gets in the Way

When is a ball not a ball?

A real scenario which is causing a bit of discussion, so one for those who know the rules in depth. As follows: A group of players are playing in a Stableford Competition. Half way down a hole, Player A declares that they cannot now score any Stableford points and therefore they have ‘completed the hole‘ … Continue reading When is a ball not a ball?

Referee Challenge: Putt deflected by leaf blown by the wind

This doesn't happen every day (and its just as well). I have posted this as it has been the source of much debate amongst the Wiltshire Referees recently - many emails being exchanged without a consensus being reached. It may be one to refer to the R&A. This video from YouTube shows the scenario - … Continue reading Referee Challenge: Putt deflected by leaf blown by the wind