A simple question I've been asked which might create a chase through the rule book. Matchplay, both players played approach (lets say 2nd shots) to slightly hidden green. Player A found ball, Player B didn't and conceded the hole. As they were leaving the next tee having driven off the players behind called that there … Continue reading Matchplay – ball holed but not found
Concessions do not apply in strokeplay - you (and your fellow competitors) must hole out at each hole to return a score for that hole. In matchplay, a player may concede their opponent’s next stroke, a hole, or the match at any time. Concessions must be clearly communicated and are final - they cannot be … Continue reading Matchplay – Concessions and what if you disagree with your opponent?
Extra holes "sudden death" are considered to be an extension of the existing round, and not a new round. As such, you can't make any changes before starting the extra holes that you are not allowed to make during the round. The example in the video is correcting a handicap error that was made, but … Continue reading Matchplay – Extra Holes
You should tell each other your handicap before you start play in a match, but you must declare a correct handicap. If it is incorrect, and your opponent plays a stroke (or takes similar action - e.g. conceding a stroke or hole) then you will have to suffer the consequence, as follows: too high a … Continue reading Matchplay – Declaring the Wrong Handicap
In matchplay you are tasked with protecting your own interests under the rules (Rule 3.2), this simply isn’t possible in strokeplay when it is the interests of “the field” as a whole which need to be protected - and the whole field can't play together in one group (which is a requirement in matchplay). As … Continue reading Matchplay – Why are some of the rules different to Strokeplay?