Matchplay – ball holed but not found

A simple question I've been asked which might create a chase through the rule book. Matchplay, both players played approach (lets say 2nd shots) to slightly hidden green. Player A found ball, Player B didn't and conceded the hole. As they were leaving the next tee having driven off the players behind called that there … Continue reading Matchplay – ball holed but not found

Is missing the ball in anger a “Stroke”?

CALLING ALL REFEREES Please can you help out with this question that Bob has posed - We would very much appreciate your thoughts and citations in the discussion below. A player in a stroke play competition leaves a putt short and on the lip of the hole. In disgust they attempt to knock the ball … Continue reading Is missing the ball in anger a “Stroke”?

When is a ball not a ball?

A real scenario which is causing a bit of discussion, so one for those who know the rules in depth. As follows: A group of players are playing in a Stableford Competition. Half way down a hole, Player A declares that they cannot now score any Stableford points and therefore they have ‘completed the hole‘ … Continue reading When is a ball not a ball?

It keeps happening to Bryson – the broken club

It seems that Bryson Dechambeau just can not stay out of the limelight. The shaft of his driver broke on the 7th hole - probably not surprising given the violent speed of his new swing (watch the video below if you haven't seen the incident). The breakage was most definitely accidental and not done in … Continue reading It keeps happening to Bryson – the broken club

Referee Challenge: Ball moved by insects

Another one without a video, but I'd be struggling to recreate this situation. Again a real happening, this time from the Wiltshire Ladies at North Wilts. The 11th hole at North Wilts plays downhill and there is a steep bank leading down at the back of the green. I was called down to the green … Continue reading Referee Challenge: Ball moved by insects

Referee Challenge: How long do you have to look for your clubs?

The Wiltshire refs will recognise this one as it happened at a Seniors Championship a couple of years ago - it should be in the "you couldn't make it up" category! The scenario is that having holed out the player turns round to find that their electric trolley is no longer at the edge of … Continue reading Referee Challenge: How long do you have to look for your clubs?

Referee Challenge: Loose Impediments

We know you can remove loose impediments anywhere on the course now, but we need to take care that our ball doesn't move when doing so - if it does we get a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball exactly where it was. If we don't move it back and then play it … Continue reading Referee Challenge: Loose Impediments

Referee Challenge: Putt deflected by leaf blown by the wind

This doesn't happen every day (and its just as well). I have posted this as it has been the source of much debate amongst the Wiltshire Referees recently - many emails being exchanged without a consensus being reached. It may be one to refer to the R&A. This video from YouTube shows the scenario - … Continue reading Referee Challenge: Putt deflected by leaf blown by the wind

Referee Challenge – Too many clubs in a four-ball match

I'm sure we all remember Ian Woosnam carrying too many clubs on the first hole in the 2001 Open at Lytham. The 2 stroke penalty and mental trauma arguably cost him his best chance of winning the open - he ended up 4 shots back and tied for 3rd. When interviewed in 2012 he said … Continue reading Referee Challenge – Too many clubs in a four-ball match

Referee Challenge – Who is it to Play?

Surely the easiest decision in golf is whose turn it is to play. While "Ready Golf" is to be very much encouraged in stroke play, in match play it should be strictly the farthest from the hole at all times (and you can have your stroke recalled by your opponent if you play out of … Continue reading Referee Challenge – Who is it to Play?