Matchplay – ball holed but not found

A simple question I've been asked which might create a chase through the rule book. Matchplay, both players played approach (lets say 2nd shots) to slightly hidden green. Player A found ball, Player B didn't and conceded the hole. As they were leaving the next tee having driven off the players behind called that there … Continue reading Matchplay – ball holed but not found

Matchplay – Concessions and what if you disagree with your opponent?

Concessions do not apply in strokeplay - you (and your fellow competitors) must hole out at each hole to return a score for that hole. In matchplay, a player may concede their opponent’s next stroke, a hole, or the match at any time.  Concessions must be clearly communicated and are final - they cannot be … Continue reading Matchplay – Concessions and what if you disagree with your opponent?

Matchplay – Extra Holes

Extra holes "sudden death" are considered to be an extension of the existing round, and not a new round. As such, you can't make any changes before starting the extra holes that you are not allowed to make during the round. The example in the video is correcting a handicap error that was made, but … Continue reading Matchplay – Extra Holes

Matchplay – declaring the wrong number of strokes taken

You have a duty to tell your opponent that you have incurred a penalty as soon as it is practical / possible to do so. If you are 50 yards apart you don't need to shout across the course, but you may be able to pass the message using actions, or let them know as … Continue reading Matchplay – declaring the wrong number of strokes taken

Matchplay – Declaring the Wrong Handicap

You should tell each other your handicap before you start play in a match, but you must declare a correct handicap. If it is incorrect, and your opponent plays a stroke (or takes similar action - e.g. conceding a stroke or hole) then you will have to suffer the consequence, as follows: too high a … Continue reading Matchplay – Declaring the Wrong Handicap

We’d Better Get A Referee – Video Challenge

Watch this video and let me know your decision(s). https://videopress.com/v/5bBmL8ae?preloadContent=metadata What happened and what penalties apply in MATCHPLAY The player on screen touches his ball when not allowed to - 1 penalty stroke under Rule 9.4b and - under Rule 9.4a the ball must be replaced on its original spot The player off screen advises … Continue reading We’d Better Get A Referee – Video Challenge