A quick revisit on request to a topic covered a while ago. This is really a reminder that there is just one NEAREST Point of Complete Relief. The rules do not allow you to choose the nicest point of complete relief! https://youtu.be/iiu9rRLiYlQ Recommendation is to always determine your nearest point of complete relief before you … Continue reading Relief from a Path Parallel to Direction of Play
Tag: Top Ten Transgression
DO NOT TOUCH YOUR BALL (without marking its position first)!
A rule I see broken with astonishing regularity. Keep your eyes open and I'm sure you'll find someone does it during your next friendly fourball. Rule of Thumb (but not a rule of golf): MARK YOUR BALL FIRST if you ever need to touch or lift it. And please remember that if you do need … Continue reading DO NOT TOUCH YOUR BALL (without marking its position first)!
Misunderstood Rules 1: Improving your Lie
This is maybe an inadvertent giving yourself a "chance" of getting the ball out from heavy rough. You are not allowed to improve any of Conditions Affecting the Stroke. But what are they? the lie of the ballthe area of intended stancethe area of intended swingthe line of playthe relief area where the player will … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 1: Improving your Lie
Misunderstood Rules 2: Giving or Receiving Advice
Often well meaning comments made by another player in your group, but you can also inadvertently ask for advice without thinking. A player may not give or seek advice to or from anyone except their caddie, partner or partner's caddie (or a nominated "advice giver", if allowed, in a team competition). https://youtu.be/Fiyr2Z06soE Interestingly, the Advice … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 2: Giving or Receiving Advice
Misunderstood Rules 3: Nearest or Nicest Point of Relief?
Perhaps every golfer is tempted by this with the following thought process: "It can't be relief if I can't get a swing at it, so I'll find the nearest point where I can actually play the ball" Commonly known as finding the "nicest" rather than "nearest" point of relief. https://youtu.be/StzCioUtteQ Sorry - but that isn't … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 3: Nearest or Nicest Point of Relief?
Misunderstood Rules 4: Lateral Relief from Red Penalty Areas
Its very easy to take lateral relief from a Red Penalty Area next to where your ball is lying, however your reference point is the point where the ball last crossed in to the penalty area - perhaps a little bit further back as most red penalty areas are to the side. https://youtu.be/M09fG0fnRK0 And don't … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 4: Lateral Relief from Red Penalty Areas
Misunderstood Rules 5: Identifying your ball
I once warned a playing partner not to do this when he picked up a ball which wasn't (but might have been) his during a search, only for him to pick up his own ball to identify it 30 seconds later! https://youtu.be/NzfyTgz9-nY The rule changed in 2019 - previously you had to tell your opponent … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 5: Identifying your ball
Misunderstood Rules 6: Where is the edge of a Penalty Area?
Most golfers believe that stakes define the edge of a penalty area unless there is a line. While lines would always DEFINE the edge of a penalty area stakes normally only INDICATE there is a penalty area (unless the local rules state that stakes DEFINE penalty areas). The default position is that penalty areas are … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 6: Where is the edge of a Penalty Area?
Misunderstood Rules 7: Finding the ball after 3 minutes have elapsed
This would perhaps be better titled as a frequently ignored rule. I can also report a strange bit of human nature - the search time was reduced from 5 to 3 minutes at the start of 2019 with the aim of speeding up play. When refereeing we will start a stopwatch at the start of … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 7: Finding the ball after 3 minutes have elapsed
Misunderstood Rules 8: Playing a Provisional
So many players use a phrase like "I'll hit another", "I'm going to re-load", or "I'll try again" which do not "Clearly Indicate" the intention that the stroke to be made will be a provisional ball. https://videopress.com/v/Ninyad9X?preloadContent=metadata If you intend to play a provisional ball, you must clearly indicate your intention before you play the … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 8: Playing a Provisional