Misunderstood Rules 1: Improving your Lie

This is maybe an inadvertent giving yourself a "chance" of getting the ball out from heavy rough. You are not allowed to improve any of Conditions Affecting the Stroke. But what are they? the lie of the ballthe area of intended stancethe area of intended swingthe line of playthe relief area where the player will … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 1: Improving your Lie

Misunderstood Rules 2: Giving or Receiving Advice

Often well meaning comments made by another player in your group, but you can also inadvertently ask for advice without thinking. A player may not give or seek advice to or from anyone except their caddie, partner or partner's caddie (or a nominated "advice giver", if allowed, in a team competition). https://youtu.be/Fiyr2Z06soE Interestingly, the Advice … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 2: Giving or Receiving Advice

Misunderstood Rules 3: Nearest or Nicest Point of Relief?

Perhaps every golfer is tempted by this with the following thought process: "It can't be relief if I can't get a swing at it, so I'll find the nearest point where I can actually play the ball" Commonly known as finding the "nicest" rather than "nearest" point of relief. https://youtu.be/StzCioUtteQ Sorry - but that isn't … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 3: Nearest or Nicest Point of Relief?

Misunderstood Rules 4: Lateral Relief from Red Penalty Areas

Its very easy to take lateral relief from a Red Penalty Area next to where your ball is lying, however your reference point is the point where the ball last crossed in to the penalty area - perhaps a little bit further back as most red penalty areas are to the side. https://youtu.be/M09fG0fnRK0 And don't … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 4: Lateral Relief from Red Penalty Areas

Misunderstood Rules 5: Identifying your ball

I once warned a playing partner not to do this when he picked up a ball which wasn't (but might have been) his during a search, only for him to pick up his own ball to identify it 30 seconds later! https://youtu.be/NzfyTgz9-nY The rule changed in 2019 - previously you had to tell your opponent … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 5: Identifying your ball

Misunderstood Rules 6: Where is the edge of a Penalty Area?

Most golfers believe that stakes define the edge of a penalty area unless there is a line. While lines would always DEFINE the edge of a penalty area stakes normally only INDICATE there is a penalty area (unless the local rules state that stakes DEFINE penalty areas). The default position is that penalty areas are … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 6: Where is the edge of a Penalty Area?

Misunderstood Rules 7: Finding the ball after 3 minutes have elapsed

This would perhaps be better titled as a frequently ignored rule. I can also report a strange bit of human nature - the search time was reduced from 5 to 3 minutes at the start of 2019 with the aim of speeding up play. When refereeing we will start a stopwatch at the start of … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 7: Finding the ball after 3 minutes have elapsed

Misunderstood Rules 8: Playing a Provisional

So many players use a phrase like "I'll hit another", "I'm going to re-load", or "I'll try again" which do not "Clearly Indicate" the intention that the stroke to be made will be a provisional ball. https://videopress.com/v/Ninyad9X?preloadContent=metadata If you intend to play a provisional ball, you must clearly indicate your intention before you play the … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 8: Playing a Provisional

Misunderstood Rules 9: Unplayable Lie

When you take lateral (sideways) relief from an unplayable lie you measure your 2 club lengths from the edge of the unplayable area don't you? https://videopress.com/v/ck5Ylk7h?preloadContent=metadata Sorry - the 2 club lengths is from the position of the ball. If you are in the middle of a big bush you might need to take 2 … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 9: Unplayable Lie

Misunderstood Rules 10: Placing under winter rules when you should drop

When winter rules / preferred lies are in place more than a few golfers feel they can place rather than drop when taking relief on the fairway. https://videopress.com/v/AS3LDm2z?preloadContent=metadata You may feel that the drop then place procedure as in the video doesn't make much difference to just placing in the first place. However when the … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 10: Placing under winter rules when you should drop