CALLING ALL REFEREES Please can you help out with this question that Bob has posed - We would very much appreciate your thoughts and citations in the discussion below. A player in a stroke play competition leaves a putt short and on the lip of the hole. In disgust they attempt to knock the ball … Continue reading Is missing the ball in anger a “Stroke”?
Category: Rule 10 – Preparing for and Making a Stroke; Advice and Help; Caddies
Misunderstood Rules 2: Giving or Receiving Advice
Often well meaning comments made by another player in your group, but you can also inadvertently ask for advice without thinking. A player may not give or seek advice to or from anyone except their caddie, partner or partner's caddie (or a nominated "advice giver", if allowed, in a team competition). https://youtu.be/Fiyr2Z06soE Interestingly, the Advice … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 2: Giving or Receiving Advice
https://youtu.be/yCYszCbMF0c I see this so often on the course as golfers try to help one another in the monthly medal or stableford, but you really shouldn't. The advice giver immediately gets the General Penalty (loss of hole in match play - or 2 strokes in strokeplay). The receiver gets no immediate penalty as they didn't … Continue reading Advice!
Standing on or Close to the Line of Play Behind the Ball
While it has always been considered a breach of etiquette to stand on or close to the line of play (unless attending the flagstick) there is now a prohibition on caddies standing in this area after a player begins to take their stance. This also applies to Partners (and Partner’s caddies) in fourball, foursome, and … Continue reading Standing on or Close to the Line of Play Behind the Ball