Tour Happenings

Learn from the Pro Tours

Cam Smith – Penalty Area Relief

An illustration of how simple things can go wrong – also perhaps why Tour Players will call a referee for situations where you might expect them to know the rules. The language used in the video is a little “loose” when referring to “complete relief” (which he doesn’t need to take), but it does teach…

(Not) Attending the Flag

So this wasn’t during a competition round, but what would your ruling be if you witnessed this happening? (Just Jack’s putt – don’t worry about the banter with Johnny Miller before or the fact that he had just popped the ball down on the green). You will notice that Jack’s caddie ran over to take…

Rory’s tee shot hits JT’s

A great example of exactly what to do when given a ruling. At the Canadian Open Justin Thomas hits a nice drive down the middle of the fairway. Rory then hits and his tee shot, also straight down the middle, hits JT’s. What do you do? JT’s ball has been moved by an “outside influence”…

Scottie Scheffler: “Pine Straw” at the Masters

I’ve been asked a few questions about the rulings Scottie Scheffler received during the Masters last weekend. At the 18th on Saturday he took an unplayable lie from deep in a bush after his drive. He then asked for confirmation that he could remove the pine needles that Augusta put under the trees before dropping.…

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.


Follow My Blog

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s