16th @Brokenhurst – Touching Your Ball to Identify it

The 16th is a fairly straightforward par 5. It plays slightly downhill to a ditch crossing at 350 yards or so from the tee, and the slightly up hill to the green 150 yards further on. Long hitters will need to avoid the left hand bunkers from the tee and in some conditions will be … Continue reading 16th @Brokenhurst – Touching Your Ball to Identify it

Is missing the ball in anger a “Stroke”?

CALLING ALL REFEREES Please can you help out with this question that Bob has posed - We would very much appreciate your thoughts and citations in the discussion below. A player in a stroke play competition leaves a putt short and on the lip of the hole. In disgust they attempt to knock the ball … Continue reading Is missing the ball in anger a “Stroke”?

Matchplay – declaring the wrong number of strokes taken

You have a duty to tell your opponent that you have incurred a penalty as soon as it is practical / possible to do so. If you are 50 yards apart you don't need to shout across the course, but you may be able to pass the message using actions, or let them know as … Continue reading Matchplay – declaring the wrong number of strokes taken

Causing the Ball to Move – AT&T at Pebble Beach

More tour happenings that we can learn from. Maverick McNeally was doing well and facing a delicate pitch out of the rough with his ball lying precariously on top of the long grass. While he initially put his club down well behind the ball, when he went to play the stroke the ball toppled off … Continue reading Causing the Ball to Move – AT&T at Pebble Beach

Jon Rahm forgets to mark his ball

Some players just seem to attract bizarre incidents. Perhaps a bit of "brain fade" but it seems he thought he had previously put his marker down. He just lifted the ball and immediately realised his mistake. https://videopress.com/v/jYn59kOg?preloadContent=metadata This is an immediate 1 stroke penalty under Rule 9.4b and this happens whenever a player deliberately touches … Continue reading Jon Rahm forgets to mark his ball

5th Hole @BrokenhurstGC – Ball moves on the putting green

The fifth is the second par 3 at Brokenhurst and while very pleasing on the eye it does come with a good degree of challenge. Anything between 140 and 175 in length it is at right angles to the 3rd (the first par 3) so you will have to contend with a different wind. The … Continue reading 5th Hole @BrokenhurstGC – Ball moves on the putting green

The Essential Integrity of a Golfer – Rory McIlroy

A quote from Bobby Jones - the pre-eminent golfer of his generation and grand slam winner in 1930. "You might as well praise a man for not robbing a bank as to praise him for playing by the rules""The rewards of golf, and of life too I expect, are worth very little if you don't … Continue reading The Essential Integrity of a Golfer – Rory McIlroy

Misunderstood Rules 1: Improving your Lie

This is maybe an inadvertent giving yourself a "chance" of getting the ball out from heavy rough. You are not allowed to improve any of Conditions Affecting the Stroke. But what are they? the lie of the ballthe area of intended stancethe area of intended swingthe line of playthe relief area where the player will … Continue reading Misunderstood Rules 1: Improving your Lie

Referee Challenge: Ball moved by insects

Another one without a video, but I'd be struggling to recreate this situation. Again a real happening, this time from the Wiltshire Ladies at North Wilts. The 11th hole at North Wilts plays downhill and there is a steep bank leading down at the back of the green. I was called down to the green … Continue reading Referee Challenge: Ball moved by insects

Referee Challenge 2

https://youtu.be/mOio-73rEeQ So, its a strokeplay competition and we have a ball in the battery compartment of a trolley which is on an artificially surfaced path and then the wind blows the trolley and the ball to a new position. What rules apply and how should the player proceed?