The Wiltshire refs will recognise this one as it happened at a Seniors Championship a couple of years ago – it should be in the “you couldn’t make it up” category!
The scenario is that having holed out the player turns round to find that their electric trolley is no longer at the edge of the green where they had left it moments before. Not only that, it is not in sight and no trace of it can be seen. This leaves the competitor with one putter and a ball as his complete complement of equipment with which to complete his round.
Does the 3 minute rule apply after which his clubs are declared “lost”?
What rule does actually apply?
Perhaps thankfully, this was near the end of the final round and the competitor was not in contention so he withdrew allowing his two playing partners to carry on. It was suggested that someone could ring his phone which was in his bag and then listen for it – the only problem being that he didn’t know his phone number. Trolley, bag and clubs were eventually found about half an hour later deep in a wood at ninety degrees to the direction that he thought his trolley was pointing in at the time of accidental activation!