This doesn’t happen every day (and its just as well). I have posted this as it has been the source of much debate amongst the Wiltshire Referees recently – many emails being exchanged without a consensus being reached. It may be one to refer to the R&A.
This video from YouTube shows the scenario – please note that this is from 2017 so the discussion in the commentary is based on the rules as they were at the time and not the 2019 edition. Also, apologies for the commentators’ language.
So, a stroke played from the green was deflected by a leaf that was blowing in the wind.
Under the 2019 rule book – what is the ruling and how should the player proceed? As this has been the root of a lot of discussion, please could you make sure you include the basis for your reasoning and ruling in your comments. What rule numbers / interpretations / definitions are you applying?
NB During the email debate amongst the refs we were reminded that we are all one decision away from being wrong but thankfully have the protection of Rule 20.2. Perhaps the only unarguable answer is that the player should call a referee before doing anything else.