Boundary of a Penalty Area

A decision from a junior competition a couple of years ago. The general view is on the left, while the position of the ball, half under the sleepers edging the path, is shown in the right hand picture. The middle picture shows the plan view with the green to which they were playing. While the … Continue reading Boundary of a Penalty Area

Penalty Area and Immovable Obstruction

A bridge over a penalty area with balls in 5 different positions playing to the green and flag that you can see. What relief can you get for each situation? Ball number 1 is in the Red Penalty Area and as the ditch is dry at this time of year many players would consider playing … Continue reading Penalty Area and Immovable Obstruction

Red Penalty Area on the Right of the 17th

While this post is about the 17th hole at Cumberwell Park it highlights points about identifying where a ball lost crossed in to a penalty area as well as the level of certainty if there is the possibility that a ball may have emerged from the penalty area. So please read on... A problem that … Continue reading Red Penalty Area on the Right of the 17th

Tiger’s Needless Quadruple Bogey

The top Pros spend hours practicing to reach the incredible level of skill they show every week, so you wonder why they (or their caddies) don’t spend a little more time ensuring they know the rules as that knowledge can also save them valuable strokes. Take Tiger’s 7 at the Par 3 17th at Sawgrass … Continue reading Tiger’s Needless Quadruple Bogey

15th Hole – Red Penalty Areas (Rule 17)

Under the old rules you could choose to take lateral relief from either side of lateral water hazard, but the opposite side relief is no longer a standard option under the new rules. You can now only take lateral relief on the side of the Red Penalty Area where your ball last crossed into it. … Continue reading 15th Hole – Red Penalty Areas (Rule 17)

16th Hole – Red Penalty Area (Rule 17)

Alex, Bo, and Chris all got into trouble with their tee shots at the 16th. Alex didn’t get a good connection and ended up in the middle of the lake. Bo under clubbed, and while it just carried the lake it fell back into it from the bank. Chris took an extra club but pulled … Continue reading 16th Hole – Red Penalty Area (Rule 17)