Be the Referee Yourself
I’ve taken inspiration from the BBC’s very own Ken Brown and his “Ken on the Course” pieces. Watch the videos and make your decision.
NB: CLICK ON THE TITLE TO GO TO THE POST AND READ MORE
Can’t Explain the Physics, but what’s the ruling?
This should be easy – what is the ruling (for Tommy and the player’s ball he hit)? Any concerns about leaving the other ball next to the hole?
(Not) Attending the Flag
So this wasn’t during a competition round, but what would your ruling be if you witnessed this happening? (Just Jack’s putt – don’t worry about the banter with Johnny Miller before or the fact that he had just popped the ball down on the green). You will notice that Jack’s caddie ran over to take…
Matchplay – ball holed but not found
A simple question I’ve been asked which might create a chase through the rule book. Matchplay, both players played approach (lets say 2nd shots) to slightly hidden green. Player A found ball, Player B didn’t and conceded the hole. As they were leaving the next tee having driven off the players behind called that there…
Is missing the ball in anger a “Stroke”?
CALLING ALL REFEREES Please can you help out with this question that Bob has posed – We would very much appreciate your thoughts and citations in the discussion below. A player in a stroke play competition leaves a putt short and on the lip of the hole. In disgust they attempt to knock the ball…
When is a ball not a ball?
A real scenario which is causing a bit of discussion, so one for those who know the rules in depth. As follows: A group of players are playing in a Stableford Competition. Half way down a hole, Player A declares that they cannot now score any Stableford points and therefore they have ‘completed the hole‘…
Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.
Follow My Blog
Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.
I wonder if you could give some advice please.
A player uses their driver on a reasonably short par 4 which dog-legs to the right, the landing area, which slopes from right to left, is obscured by trees and there is a red penalty area on the left hand side of the fairway.
The players drive has a slight draw and is heard to hit a tree, neither the player or his playing partners can be certain or virtually certain that the ball has gone into the penalty area. As a result, the player elects to play a provisional ball, declaring it to be a provisional ball. Walking up the hole the player finds his original ball is lying in the penalty area and the provisional ball is in the middle of the fairway.
Does the player proceed with the original ball under the provisions of Rule 17.1d(3) or is it deemed that the player has put another ball into play and has played 3 off the tee?
I look forward to your thoughts on this issue.
Phil
LikeLike
Hi Phil
The original ball is in play and the player must proceed with that ball. They may not play the provisional ball.
LikeLike