I see this so often on the course as golfers try to help one another in the monthly medal or stableford, but you really shouldn’t.
The advice giver immediately gets the General Penalty (loss of hole in match play – or 2 strokes in strokeplay). The receiver gets no immediate penalty as they didn’t ask for the advice, however they must try to stop ongoing advice as if they don’t and it continues they will then be liable for the general penalty – see Rule 10.2
Other comments that might be interpreted as advice would include:
“That wind is stronger than you think – I hit 2 clubs more than normal and I’m still a club short”
“You’ve got at least a 6 foot break on that putt”
“Are you sure you can carry the water with that club?”
The definition of ADVICE – Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:
– Choosing a club,
– Making a stroke, or
– Deciding how to play during a hole or round.
BUT advice does not include public information, such as:
– The location of things on the course such as the hole, the putting green, the fairway, penalty areas, bunkers, or another player’s ball,
– The distance from one point to another, or
– The Rules