Preferred Lies

If the standard wording from the Model Local Rule E-3 is used when “Winter Rules” are in place then (if your ball is on the fairway) you may move the ball up to 6 inches (usually) and place the original or another ball on your chosen spot. However, not everyone gets it right when preferring their lie.

Have a look at the following video. Some of these actions would incur a penalty – which ones? And which one’s are allowed when MLR E-3 is in force? (NB The direction of play to the hole is towards the top of the screen).

If you need some help deciding, here is the local rule:

So which of the following procedures were allowed by the local rule?

  1. The position of the ball wasn’t marked before it was lifted and placed (within 6″ and not nearer the hole).
  2. The position of the ball wasn’t marked before it was moved using a club (less than 6″ and further from the hole).
  3. The position of the ball was marked, it was then lifted and set down a couple of times (within 6″ and not nearer the hole) before the marker was removed.
  4. The ball was half on the green and half on the fringe. It’s position was marked before it was lifted and placed on the fringe (within 6″ and not nearer the hole).

The only example that applies the rule correctly is the first one. There is no requirement to mark the position of the ball (if you don’t believe me, re-read it above). That said, I would suggest that it is best practice to do so and especially if you are moving your ball well away from its original position (maybe to clean it) before returning it to play.

Numbers 2 & 3 would incur an immediate penalty stroke for deliberately moving your ball in play. In the 3rd scenario as soon as the ball was released the first time it was back in play and you may only “take free relief once“. In both these scenarios the penalty would become the general penalty if the mistake was not corrected (i.e. the ball returned to its correct place), before a stroke was made.

The ball in number 4 is on the green (as part of it is touching the green – See Rule 13.1a). You can mark and REplace it (i.e. on its original spot), but can’t prefer its lie. The standard MLR wording (as published in the 2023 rule book) is a little loose on this aspect, but it is going to be revised – the version above comes from England Golf. With the ball being on the green you are allowed to mark and lift it, so no penalty for lifting the ball, but you would get a 1 stroke penalty for deliberately lifting the marker without having replaced the ball under Rule 9.4. Again this would become the General Penalty if you then played the ball from the wrong place.

6 thoughts on “Preferred Lies

  1. Great explanation Mr GG 👍 don’t disagree with anything that you have said. Do remember our detailed “discussions” within the Wiltshire Refs Panel regarding the ball moving after being placed and the reference to 14.2 e. Kindest regards as always Adrian

    Like

  2. Good post but important to remind everyone that 6 inches is not strictly in the MLR. It is for the Committee to specify the size of the Relief Area, examples given in the MRL include 1 club length, 6 inches and width of the scorecard

    Like

  3. Hi Golf Guru I wonder If you could clarify for my own information as the match has ended and the results will stand regardless but sat here just pondering I played in my club ko competition today And the guy I played against had 18 shots on me so obviously a shot every hole We halved the match on the 18th then played 1st hole again and we both had 5’s & he beat me saying it was a 5 nett 4 Does he receive another 18 shots as we were playing extra holes or should he of had no shots as he had used he 18 already Regards Nige

    Sent from Outlook for iOShttps://aka.ms/o0ukef ________________________________

    Like

    1. Hi Nigel
      Your opponent would get the same stroke allocation for the extra holes as they would during the first 18 – in this case 1 stroke per hole. If he had been getting 17 strokes and the 1st was Stroke Index 18 then he wouldn’t have got a stroke.

      Like

      1. Hi
        Thank you for your prompt reply and clarification
        I thought it was right but sometimes you just clutch at straws and and think well its actually a continuation of the round and he’s had his allowance of shots
        As always very knowledgeable of you and thank you once again
        Kind regards
        Nigel

        Sent from Outlook for iOShttps://aka.ms/o0ukef


        Like

Leave a reply to Nigel Cousins Cancel reply