Can’t Explain the Physics, but what’s the ruling?

This should be easy – what is the ruling (for Tommy and the player’s ball he hit)?
Any concerns about leaving the other ball next to the hole?

6 thoughts on “Can’t Explain the Physics, but what’s the ruling?

  1. I believe Rule 15.3 or 8 would impose a penalty in the Fleetwood situation, as the other ball potentially gave him an advantage
    I’ll be interested in your views

    Like

  2. It depends…
    1. If Fleetwood/owner of ball on green have both agreed to leave the ball on green; each gets general penalty (15.3a)
    2. Assuming no such agreement existed (? more likely scenario), then clarification 15.3/C1 states there is no breach of 15.3a and hence no penalty under 15.3a, but Fleetwood’s actions would not be considered “best practice”. 15.3/C1 tries to prevent “backstopping” and, in part, states: “if there is a reasonable possibility that a player’s ball close to the hole could help another player who is about to play from off the green, both players should ensure that the player whose ball is close to the hole marks and lifts that ball before the other player plays.” in this scenario, Fleetwood might be guilty of not following best practice and might receive advice from the organising committee.

    Like

  3. Considering that there was no agreement between players, there is no penalty under the 15.3A “If a player reasonably believes that a ball on the putting green might help anyone´s play (such as by serving as possible backstop near the hole), the player may:
    Mark the spot… Take attention: the rule (15.3a) says MAY and not MUST.

    Like

    1. Yes, but if the player considers that there own ball may assist then why would they want to leave it in place? If it is another player’s ball they may require that other player to lift or play it.

      Like

Leave a reply to Joe Cancel reply