Misunderstood Rules 9: Unplayable Lie

When you take lateral (sideways) relief from an unplayable lie you measure your 2 club lengths from the edge of the unplayable area don’t you?

Sorry – the 2 club lengths is from the position of the ball. If you are in the middle of a big bush you might need to take 2 club lengths sideways, drop the ball and then take another unplayable lie. The practicalities of measuring and dropping inside a bush aren’t always easy though – don’t forget that back-on-the-line and stroke and distance are also available options.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s