A quick revisit on request to a topic covered a while ago. This is really a reminder that there is just one NEAREST Point of Complete Relief. The rules do not allow you to choose the nicest point of complete relief!
Recommendation is to always determine your nearest point of complete relief before you pick up your ball. It may be that you have to drop in a worse position and you would far rather have played it from the path (or other Abnormal Course Condition). It is also possible that this point will be different for different for different golfers – notably right and left handed golfers will determine different points as you must get your stance off the path to obtain the “complete” relief.
The Rule is fairly straightforward: Find your “Reference Point” which is the Nearest Point of Complete Relief which is not nearer the hole, drop the ball into the “Relief Area” which is within one club length of, not nearer the hole than, and in the same area of the course as your Reference Point. It must also provide that complete relief, so it is likely to be shaped like a quarter circle in this instance. There is no penalty for taking relief from the path as it is an Immovable Obstruction which is one of the defined Abnormal Course Conditions.
However if you take relief to the nicest rather than nearest point, or you play your next stroke with your feet on the path you will have played from a wrong place and incur at least a 2 stroke penalty.