Temporary Greens and “Winter Rules”

Temporary Greens are often classified as “Wrong Greens” or “GUR-No Play Zones” and so you must take relief from them if they interfere with the lie of your ball, your stance, or area of intended swing (Rule 13.1f). You go to the nearest point of complete relief (i.e. lie, stance and swing not touching the green) which is in the general area and not nearer the hole. Your relief area is within one club length of, and not nearer the hole than, this point. (Check your local “winter” rules to understand the status of temporary greens which are not in play at your course).

Even with the “pick and place” winter rules (Model Local Rule E-3) in place you must still drop the ball into the relief area first – having done this correctly you may then use the “pick and place” Local Rule if you are allowed to do so.

8 thoughts on “Temporary Greens and “Winter Rules”

  1. Hi Stuart I agree that Temp Greens are Wrong Greens if they are in play however when our main greens are in play the Temp Greens are marked as GUR No Play Zones.

    Like

    1. Hi Don, GUR-NPZ has exactly the same effect as a Wrong Green so “same, same, but different”! I do admit to having been a bit loose with my statements (and might now edit it to be clearer) as temporary greens not in use are just general area unless there is a local rule to make them wrong greens or GUR.

      Like

      1. Hi, just to clarify, in summer my ball lands on a winter green mowed lower than fairway (that is not marked) must I drop off or play as it lies.

        Like

      2. Hi Adrian

        Hopefully your club will have a local rule defining how to treat winter greens. When they are being prepared or are likely to be in use then I would expect them to be defined by the club as either wrong greens or as “No Play Zones”. These both have the same effect (i.e. you must take complete relief). This is to protect the temp from the golfer (i.e. to prevent divots being taken out of it). Some clubs may define as GUR in which case you have the choice of taking relief or playing as it lies.

        At the end of the winter once the greens have been taken out of play and are recovering to fairway height then I would expect them to just be in normal play (i.e. play it as it lies). The rule of thumb is that once the hole has been filled in on the temp then it is no longer a temporary green.

        Kind regards

        Stuart

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s