A simple question I’ve been asked which might create a chase through the rule book.
Matchplay, both players played approach (lets say 2nd shots) to slightly hidden green. Player A found ball, Player B didn’t and conceded the hole. As they were leaving the next tee having driven off the players behind called that there was a ball in the hole of the previous green – it was Player B’s.
My initial reaction is that Player B’s ball in the hole was lost as it was not found within the 3 minute search window. However the hole was completed when Player B holed out (Rule 6.5) in fewer strokes than it was possible for Player A to now do (Rule 3.2a).
If Player B had conceded the hole, then walked across the green and found their ball in the hole within the 3 minutes then I would confidently say that the concession did not stand as you cannot make a concession after a hole is completed (Rule 3.2b).
As an aside, Player B would be able to ask for a ruling even though they have started play of the next hole as new information has come to light (although they must notify Player A of this intent before starting the hole after) Rule 20.1b(2). This also means that the match score can be corrected (Rule 3.2d(3) Exception 3).
Please help me get my thinking straight on this one – thank you.